We meticulously test and assess everything we review. Learn more about why you can trust us.

What do I need to get married in Houston, Texas?

What do I need to get married in Houston, Texas

Looking to tie the knot H-town? Houston, Texas is a vibrant and bustling city that offers everything from delicious cuisine to diverse cultural experiences. It’s no wonder that Houston is a popular destination for couples looking to make it official. 

But before you can say “I do,” there are a few things you need to know about getting married in Houston. To get married in Houston, legally you only need to get a Texas marriage license, wait 3 days, and have any kind of ceremony you prefer. 

This article will guide you through everything you need to know to make your dream wedding a reality in Houston. So grab a pen and paper, and let’s get started on planning your happily ever after in Houston!

What are the requirements for marriage in Houston?

Marriage License

Marriage License's Homepage
Image Source: Click to Houston Website

To get married in Houston or any part of Texas, you are required to obtain a marriage license. 

The process is pretty straightforward and convenient. You can visit any county clerk’s office in Texas to apply for a marriage license and make sure both parties attend in person.

You can find the full list here and find one near you!

To get a marriage license, both parties must bring the following: 

  • 1 Valid ID: It can be any government-issued ID with your photo like a driver’s license, a certified copy of a birth certificate, a passport,  military identification card
  • Social Security cards

Both parties have to be at least 18 years old to get married. For those between 16 to 18, you can get married, but you need your parent’s consent or obtain a court order that grants you permission to get married without your parents.  

You need to pay $60 in cash for a marriage license in Texas. But, this fee can be  waived if you’ve completed the premarital education course of at least 8 hours the year before your application. 

The fee is also waived if you or your partner are military personnel who are being deployed to a hostile fire zone.

You have to wait 72 hours after getting the marriage license to get married to make the ceremony valid, unless:

You can go to any county clerk’s office and fill up a form by the Vital Statistics Unit of the Department of State Health Services to register an informal marriage like a common law marriage. 

City Hall Weddings in Houston

City Hall Weddings in Houston's Homepage
Image Source: Darya Sannikova on Pexels

If you prefer a low key wedding without all the frills and stress of a huge ceremony, then a city hall wedding might be perfect for you. Here are some things to keep in mind to get hitched without a hitch! 

  1. Apply for a marriage license through the county clerk’s office of your choice. 
  1. Visit the Houston Government Website to set an appointment or call them at +1-713-247-5464. Within 48 hours, a representative will get in contact with you to finalize the dates. 
  1. On the day of your wedding, pay the $100 fee for weekdays and $150 for weekends at the Public Service Counter, located on the 1st floor at the Herbert W. Gee Municipal Courthouse at 1400 Lubbock Street, Houston, TX 77002.
  1. After paying the fee, bring your receipt and Texas marriage license. Head to the second floor (room 214) where the ceremony will be held for approximately 10 minutes.
Related topics